--%>

Problem on Decision variables

A factory has three distinct systems for making similar product:

System 1: Worker runs 3 machines of type-A, each of which costs $20 per day to run, each generates 100 units per day and the worker is paid $40 per day.
System 2: Worker runs 5 machines of type-A, each of which costs $20 per day to run, generates 70 units per day and the worker is paid $50 per day.
System 3: Worker runs 2 machines of type-B, each of which costs $35 per day to run, generates 160 units per day and the worker is paid $60 per day.
There are 45 machines of type-A, 10 of type-B and 16 workers. Each and every unit can be sold for $50.

Give answers to the questions below:

1. Give a model which explains how production must be organized so as to maximize gain. Clearly explain all computations, formulas and model.

2. Give an optimal solution to your model supposing continuous decision variables (explain the solution).

3. Determine the maximum amount you would pay for an extra machine type A, B? How did you come up to this conclusion? Would you hire additional workers? Determine the maximum you would pay per day?

E

Expert

Verified

(1) Decision variables:

X1 - Number of setups as system 1
X2 – Number of setups as system 2
X3 – Number of setups as system 3

Objective function
Max Z = $15000X1 + $17500X2 + $16000X3 - $40X1 - $60X1 - $50X2 - $100X2 - $60X3 - $70X3
Max Z = $14900X1 + $17350X2 + $15870X3
For X1, the revenue = 3machines*100units*selling price$50 = $15,000 and similarly for others.

Constraints
3X1 + 5X2 ≤ 45 (constraint for type A machines)
2X3 ≤ 10 (constraint for type B machines)
X1 + X2 + X3 ≤ 16 (constraint for workers)
X1, X2, X3 ≥ 0 (continuous decision variable and so integer is not assumed)

(2) The optimal solution was found using excel solver and it was found to be 5 setups of system 1, 6 setups of system 2 and 5 setups of system 3 to achieve a maximum profit of $257,950.

(3) The maximum amount that could be paid for an extra machine for type A is $1225 and that for type B is $2322.5, since increase in these availability values by 1 unit will increase the total profit by $1225 and $2322.5 respectively (meaning they are Lagrange multipliers for type A and B machines). Yes, it is profitable to hire extra workers. An increase in the number of workers by 1 per day can increase the profit by $11225 (Lagrange multiplier for worker usage). Hence the maximum that could be paid per day is $11225.

   Related Questions in Corporate Finance

  • Q : Define reasonable things that a company

    There are four methods a company can utilize the money this generates: a) Buying other assets or companies; b) Reducing debt of it; c) Distribute this to shareholders, and d) Increasing cash holdings of it.

  • Q : What is the Free Cash Flow Is the Free

    Is the Free Cash Flow (FCF) the sum of the debt cash flow and the equity cash flow?

  • Q : Why classical option pricing required

    Why classical option pricing with constant volatility required?

  • Q : Expected return and standard deviation

    If an investor is considered to be risk-averse, what is his/her attitude towards expected return and standard deviation?

  • Q : What are the different types of

    What are the different types of mathematics found in quantitative finance?

  • Q : Calculate the risk-free rate You have

    You have been given the following information on two corporations; you are to assume that thesecurities are correctly priced. My Corp, Inc. has a Beta of 1.25 and an Expected Return of .145;Your Corp, Inc. has a Beta of .75 and an Expected Return of .095. Based on the

  • Q : Evaluating Beta of a Corporation

    Baldwin Corporation is planning to expand into the business of providing on-demand movies. Baldwin has debt-to-equity ratio of .25, its pretax cost of debt is 9%, and its marginal tax rate is 40%. The Harrington Corporation is already in the on-demand movie business,

  • Q : Case Study 2 You have joined Zurich

    You have joined Zurich Pvt. Ltd as a Finance manager. You are given the following information: Zurich Pvt Ltd. is a diversified manufacturing firm dealing with electrical appliances. In 2012, the firm reported an operating income of Rs. 857.60 million and faced a tax rate of 35% on income. The firm

  • Q : In which cases use different WACCs Is

    Is this possible to use different WACCs within order to discount each year’s flows? In which cases?

  • Q : Explain undervaluation of share on the

    Suppose we calculate g as ROE (1–p)/(1–ROE (1–p)) and the Ke by the CAPM. We replace both values into the formula PER = (ROE (1+g) – g)/ROE (Ke-g) but there PER we obtain is fully different from the one we get by dividing the quotation of the s