--%>

Healthcare Finance Issues

Question 1

A. What per visit price must be set for the service to break even? To earn an annual profit of $100,000?

(10,000 * 5.00 - $500,000 - 50,000 = 0

(10,000 * 5.00) -$50,000=0

10,000 = $600,000

600,000 + 10,000 = $60.00 per visit break even

600,000 + 100,000=700,000

700,000/10,000=$70 per visit for annual profit of $100,000

B. Repeat part a, but assume that the variable cost per visit is $10.00.

10,000 * 10.00 - $5000,00 - $50,000 =0

10,000*10.00=500,000 -50,000=0

10,000* *10.00=650,000.00

650,000.00 +10,000=$65.00 Break Even Point

650,000.00+100,000.00=750,000.00

750,000.00/10,000.00=$75.00 per visit for annual profit

C. Again repeat part a,but assume that direct fixed costs are$1,000,000.

(10,000.00 * 5.00) - 1,000,000.00 -50,000.00

10,000.00*5.00=1,000,000.00-50,000.00=0

10,000.00*5.00=1,100,000.00

1,100,000.00/10,000.00=$110.00 per visit

1,100,000+100,000=1,200,000.00/10,000.00 =$120,00 per visit for annual profit

D. Repeat Part a assuming both $10..00 in variable costs and $1,000,000 in direct fixed costs.

(10,000.00*10.00)-1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000.00*10.00=1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000*10.00=1,150,000.00

1,150,000/10,000.00=$115.00 per visit breakeven point

1,150,000.00 +100,000.00=1,250,000.00

1,250,000.00/10,000=$125.00 per visit for annual profit

Question 2:

A. What is the fee schedule for these services, assuming that the goal is to cover only variable and direct fixed costs/

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5*3,000)-$50,000=$0

3,000*Price=$65,000

Price=$65,000/3,000=$22.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-$30,000=$0

(1,500*Price)-$40,500

Price=$40,5000/1,500=$27.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)-(10*500)-40,000

(500*Price)-$45,000

Price=$45,000/500=$90.00

B. What is the fee schedule assuming that these overhead costs must be covered?

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5.00* 3000)-$50,000 - $50,000=$0

(3,000*Price)-$115,000=$0

3,000 * Price=$115,000

Price=$115,000/3,000=$38.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-50,000-30,000

(1,500*Price)-$90,500=$0

(1,5000 *Price=$90,500

Price=$90,000/1,500=$60.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)($10*500)-$50,000-$40,000

(500*Price)-$95,000=$0

Question 3:

As a starting point, what is the price of the combined test assuming marginal cost pricing/

A. Test A                                  Test B                 Test C

$3.00                           $3.00                  $3.00

1.00                               1.00                    1.00

.15                                   .15                       .15

.80                                   .60                    1.20

.10                                   .10                      .10

.05                                   .05                      .05

5.10 Total                       4.90 Total           $5.50 Total

B.

Test A $10+5.10=$15.10

Test B $10+4.90=$14.90

Test C $10+5.50=$15.50

C. 

2,000 Test

40,000.00 Overhead

Test A

2,000*5.10=10,200.00

10,000.00+40,000=50,200.00

50,200.00/2,000=$25.10

Test B

2,000*4.90=9,800.00

9,800.00+40,000=49,800.00

49,800.00/2,000=$24.90

Test C

2,000*5.50=11,000.00

11,000.00+40,000=51,000

51,000.00/2,000=$25.50

A. What is the hospitals net income?

Payer                #of Admissions   Avg. Rev   Per Admissions      Rev.By Payer  VC per Adm Total VC.         Contribution Margin

PennCare           1,000      $5,000           $5,000,000.00           3,000           3,000,000.00                2,000,000.00

Medicare            4,000       4,500           18,000,000.00            4,000           16,000,000.00              2,000,000.00

Commercial        8,000    7,000              56,000,000.00            2,500           20,000,000.00              36,000,000.00

Total                13,000   16,500,000.00   79,000,000.00            9,500          39,000,000,00              40,000,000.00

Total Revenues $79,000,000.00

B.Assume that half of the 100,000 covered lives in the commercial payer group will be moved into a capitated plan. What Pmpm rate will the hospital have to charge to retain its Part a net income?

   Related Questions in Finance Basics

  • Q : Revision Order #2 Hello, You folks

    Hello, You folks recently completed an order for me. I'm very impressed and much thanks in advance. I'd like to submit more problems (8 attached) if you can have the same expert work on these please? Some of the #'s were slightly modified from my previous order, so should be easier than starting

  • Q : Describe the sales forecasting procedure

    Describe the sales forecasting procedure.This is a group effort. Usually sales and marketing personnel provide assessments of demand and the competition. Usually, production personnel provide estimates of manufacturing capacity and other product

  • Q : Change in GDP Normal 0 false false

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : Summer Co. is expected to pay a

    Summer Co. is expected to pay a dividend or $4.00 per share out of earnings of $7.50 per share. If the required rate of return on the stock is 15% and dividends are growing at a current rate of 10% per year, calculate the present value of the growth opportunity for the stock (PVGO)

  • Q : What is Victim Compensation and

    Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board, California: It is an administrative body in state government exercising quasi-judicial powers (that is, power to make rules and regulations) to set up an orderly procedure by which the Legislature will

  • Q : Charted bank loan policy Normal 0 false

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : Influence of opportunity costs How do

    How do opportunity costs influence the capital budgeting decision-making procedure? Opportunity costs reflect the foregone benefits of alternative not selected when a capital budgeting project is chosen. Any decrease in the cash flows of the fi

  • Q : Question-total level of employment and

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : What is Administration Administration :

    Administration: It refers to the Governor's Office and those individuals, subdivisions, and offices reporting to it (example, the Department of Finance).

  • Q : Influence of a quota Normal 0 false

    Normal 0 false false