--%>

Healthcare Finance Issues

Question 1

A. What per visit price must be set for the service to break even? To earn an annual profit of $100,000?

(10,000 * 5.00 - $500,000 - 50,000 = 0

(10,000 * 5.00) -$50,000=0

10,000 = $600,000

600,000 + 10,000 = $60.00 per visit break even

600,000 + 100,000=700,000

700,000/10,000=$70 per visit for annual profit of $100,000

B. Repeat part a, but assume that the variable cost per visit is $10.00.

10,000 * 10.00 - $5000,00 - $50,000 =0

10,000*10.00=500,000 -50,000=0

10,000* *10.00=650,000.00

650,000.00 +10,000=$65.00 Break Even Point

650,000.00+100,000.00=750,000.00

750,000.00/10,000.00=$75.00 per visit for annual profit

C. Again repeat part a,but assume that direct fixed costs are$1,000,000.

(10,000.00 * 5.00) - 1,000,000.00 -50,000.00

10,000.00*5.00=1,000,000.00-50,000.00=0

10,000.00*5.00=1,100,000.00

1,100,000.00/10,000.00=$110.00 per visit

1,100,000+100,000=1,200,000.00/10,000.00 =$120,00 per visit for annual profit

D. Repeat Part a assuming both $10..00 in variable costs and $1,000,000 in direct fixed costs.

(10,000.00*10.00)-1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000.00*10.00=1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000*10.00=1,150,000.00

1,150,000/10,000.00=$115.00 per visit breakeven point

1,150,000.00 +100,000.00=1,250,000.00

1,250,000.00/10,000=$125.00 per visit for annual profit

Question 2:

A. What is the fee schedule for these services, assuming that the goal is to cover only variable and direct fixed costs/

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5*3,000)-$50,000=$0

3,000*Price=$65,000

Price=$65,000/3,000=$22.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-$30,000=$0

(1,500*Price)-$40,500

Price=$40,5000/1,500=$27.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)-(10*500)-40,000

(500*Price)-$45,000

Price=$45,000/500=$90.00

B. What is the fee schedule assuming that these overhead costs must be covered?

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5.00* 3000)-$50,000 - $50,000=$0

(3,000*Price)-$115,000=$0

3,000 * Price=$115,000

Price=$115,000/3,000=$38.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-50,000-30,000

(1,500*Price)-$90,500=$0

(1,5000 *Price=$90,500

Price=$90,000/1,500=$60.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)($10*500)-$50,000-$40,000

(500*Price)-$95,000=$0

Question 3:

As a starting point, what is the price of the combined test assuming marginal cost pricing/

A. Test A                                  Test B                 Test C

$3.00                           $3.00                  $3.00

1.00                               1.00                    1.00

.15                                   .15                       .15

.80                                   .60                    1.20

.10                                   .10                      .10

.05                                   .05                      .05

5.10 Total                       4.90 Total           $5.50 Total

B.

Test A $10+5.10=$15.10

Test B $10+4.90=$14.90

Test C $10+5.50=$15.50

C. 

2,000 Test

40,000.00 Overhead

Test A

2,000*5.10=10,200.00

10,000.00+40,000=50,200.00

50,200.00/2,000=$25.10

Test B

2,000*4.90=9,800.00

9,800.00+40,000=49,800.00

49,800.00/2,000=$24.90

Test C

2,000*5.50=11,000.00

11,000.00+40,000=51,000

51,000.00/2,000=$25.50

A. What is the hospitals net income?

Payer                #of Admissions   Avg. Rev   Per Admissions      Rev.By Payer  VC per Adm Total VC.         Contribution Margin

PennCare           1,000      $5,000           $5,000,000.00           3,000           3,000,000.00                2,000,000.00

Medicare            4,000       4,500           18,000,000.00            4,000           16,000,000.00              2,000,000.00

Commercial        8,000    7,000              56,000,000.00            2,500           20,000,000.00              36,000,000.00

Total                13,000   16,500,000.00   79,000,000.00            9,500          39,000,000,00              40,000,000.00

Total Revenues $79,000,000.00

B.Assume that half of the 100,000 covered lives in the commercial payer group will be moved into a capitated plan. What Pmpm rate will the hospital have to charge to retain its Part a net income?

   Related Questions in Finance Basics

  • Q : What is Final Budget Final Budget :

    Final Budget: Usually refers to the Governor’s Budget as amended by actions taken on the Budget Bill (example, legislative changes, and Governor’s vetoes). Note

  • Q : What is Detail of Appropriations and

    Detail of Appropriations and Adjustments: A budget display, for each association, that replicates appropriations and adjustments by fund source for each of the character of expenditure, (that is, State Operations, Local Assistance, and Capital Outlay)

  • Q : Advantages of finger prints biometric

    Advantages of finger prints biometric technique: Easy to use and very little training is used No space is required for the installation Large amounts of existing data to allow background list check Has proven effect

  • Q : Define Overhead Unit Overhead Unit :

    Overhead Unit: The organizational unit which benefits the production of an article or a service however that can’t be directly related with an article or service to share out all of its expenditures to elements and/or work authorizations. The co

  • Q : Label equilibrium price P-equilibrium

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : Describe present value of the firms

    Describe the term "present value of the firm's operations" (also known as Enterprise Value). What does this number expose? The current value of the company's free cash flows reveals the market value of the firm's core income generating operatio

  • Q : Market share of large bank holding

    Have the large bank holding companies enhanced their market share at the cost of smaller institutions?No. A study conducted through the Federal Reserve Bank of New York reveals that the increase in the concentration of assets is primarily becaus

  • Q : Value $100 is received at the beginning

    $100 is received at the beginning of year 1, $200 is received at the beginning of year 2, and $300 is received at the beginning of year 3. If these cash flows are deposited at 12 percent, their combined future value at the end of year 3 is

  • Q : What is Debt Financing Debt Financing :

    Debt Financing: Whenever a firm raises money for the working capital or capital expenses by selling bonds, bills, or notes to individual and or institutional investors. In return for lending money, the individuals or institutions become creditors and

  • Q : What is a fund Fund: A lawful budgeting

    Fund: A lawful budgeting and accounting entity which offers for the segregation of moneys or other resources in the State Treasury for obligations in accordance with particular restrictions or limitations. A separate set of accounts should be maintain