--%>

Healthcare Finance Issues

Question 1

A. What per visit price must be set for the service to break even? To earn an annual profit of $100,000?

(10,000 * 5.00 - $500,000 - 50,000 = 0

(10,000 * 5.00) -$50,000=0

10,000 = $600,000

600,000 + 10,000 = $60.00 per visit break even

600,000 + 100,000=700,000

700,000/10,000=$70 per visit for annual profit of $100,000

B. Repeat part a, but assume that the variable cost per visit is $10.00.

10,000 * 10.00 - $5000,00 - $50,000 =0

10,000*10.00=500,000 -50,000=0

10,000* *10.00=650,000.00

650,000.00 +10,000=$65.00 Break Even Point

650,000.00+100,000.00=750,000.00

750,000.00/10,000.00=$75.00 per visit for annual profit

C. Again repeat part a,but assume that direct fixed costs are$1,000,000.

(10,000.00 * 5.00) - 1,000,000.00 -50,000.00

10,000.00*5.00=1,000,000.00-50,000.00=0

10,000.00*5.00=1,100,000.00

1,100,000.00/10,000.00=$110.00 per visit

1,100,000+100,000=1,200,000.00/10,000.00 =$120,00 per visit for annual profit

D. Repeat Part a assuming both $10..00 in variable costs and $1,000,000 in direct fixed costs.

(10,000.00*10.00)-1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000.00*10.00=1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000*10.00=1,150,000.00

1,150,000/10,000.00=$115.00 per visit breakeven point

1,150,000.00 +100,000.00=1,250,000.00

1,250,000.00/10,000=$125.00 per visit for annual profit

Question 2:

A. What is the fee schedule for these services, assuming that the goal is to cover only variable and direct fixed costs/

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5*3,000)-$50,000=$0

3,000*Price=$65,000

Price=$65,000/3,000=$22.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-$30,000=$0

(1,500*Price)-$40,500

Price=$40,5000/1,500=$27.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)-(10*500)-40,000

(500*Price)-$45,000

Price=$45,000/500=$90.00

B. What is the fee schedule assuming that these overhead costs must be covered?

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5.00* 3000)-$50,000 - $50,000=$0

(3,000*Price)-$115,000=$0

3,000 * Price=$115,000

Price=$115,000/3,000=$38.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-50,000-30,000

(1,500*Price)-$90,500=$0

(1,5000 *Price=$90,500

Price=$90,000/1,500=$60.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)($10*500)-$50,000-$40,000

(500*Price)-$95,000=$0

Question 3:

As a starting point, what is the price of the combined test assuming marginal cost pricing/

A. Test A                                  Test B                 Test C

$3.00                           $3.00                  $3.00

1.00                               1.00                    1.00

.15                                   .15                       .15

.80                                   .60                    1.20

.10                                   .10                      .10

.05                                   .05                      .05

5.10 Total                       4.90 Total           $5.50 Total

B.

Test A $10+5.10=$15.10

Test B $10+4.90=$14.90

Test C $10+5.50=$15.50

C. 

2,000 Test

40,000.00 Overhead

Test A

2,000*5.10=10,200.00

10,000.00+40,000=50,200.00

50,200.00/2,000=$25.10

Test B

2,000*4.90=9,800.00

9,800.00+40,000=49,800.00

49,800.00/2,000=$24.90

Test C

2,000*5.50=11,000.00

11,000.00+40,000=51,000

51,000.00/2,000=$25.50

A. What is the hospitals net income?

Payer                #of Admissions   Avg. Rev   Per Admissions      Rev.By Payer  VC per Adm Total VC.         Contribution Margin

PennCare           1,000      $5,000           $5,000,000.00           3,000           3,000,000.00                2,000,000.00

Medicare            4,000       4,500           18,000,000.00            4,000           16,000,000.00              2,000,000.00

Commercial        8,000    7,000              56,000,000.00            2,500           20,000,000.00              36,000,000.00

Total                13,000   16,500,000.00   79,000,000.00            9,500          39,000,000,00              40,000,000.00

Total Revenues $79,000,000.00

B.Assume that half of the 100,000 covered lives in the commercial payer group will be moved into a capitated plan. What Pmpm rate will the hospital have to charge to retain its Part a net income?

   Related Questions in Finance Basics

  • Q : Explain Fund Condition Statement Fund

    Fund Condition Statement: A budget display, comprised in the Governor’s Budget, shortening the operations of a fund for the past, present, and budget years. The display comprises the starting balance, previous year adjustments, loans, revenue, t

  • Q : What is Revenue Revenue : Any adding up

    Revenue: Any adding up to cash or other current assets which does not raise any liability or reserve and does not symbolize the reduction or recovery of expenditure (example, reimbursements or abatements). Revenues are a kind of receipt usually derive

  • Q : Define Budget Year Budget Year (BY) :

    Budget Year (BY): The next state fiscal year, starting July 1 and ending June 30, for which the Governor's Budget is proposed (that is, the year following the present fiscal year).

  • Q : Describe equilibrium price and quantity

    Assume the market for widgets can be described by the given equations:                     Demand: P = 10 - Q             &

  • Q : Influence of mergers on fees assessed

    What influence have mergers had on fees assessed for retail bank services? The effect is not clear. Market conditions and the level of competition often determine the cost for retail bank services.

  • Q : All rates are stated annually with

    1.      Assume the following (all rates are stated annually with semiannual compounding):

  • Q : Define Veto Veto : It is the Governor's

    Veto: It is the Governor's Constitutional authority to reduce or remove one or more items of appropriation while accepting other parts of a bill.

  • Q : Private closed economy based question

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : What is Appropriation Schedule

    Appropriation Schedule: The detail of an appropriation (example, in the Budget Act), exhibiting the distribution of the appropriation to each of the class, programs, or projects thereof.

  • Q : Reimbursement Warrant or Revenue

    Reimbursement Warrant (or Revenue Anticipation Warrant): A warrant which has been sold by the State Controller’s Office, as an outcome of a cash shortage in th