--%>

Healthcare Finance Issues

Question 1

A. What per visit price must be set for the service to break even? To earn an annual profit of $100,000?

(10,000 * 5.00 - $500,000 - 50,000 = 0

(10,000 * 5.00) -$50,000=0

10,000 = $600,000

600,000 + 10,000 = $60.00 per visit break even

600,000 + 100,000=700,000

700,000/10,000=$70 per visit for annual profit of $100,000

B. Repeat part a, but assume that the variable cost per visit is $10.00.

10,000 * 10.00 - $5000,00 - $50,000 =0

10,000*10.00=500,000 -50,000=0

10,000* *10.00=650,000.00

650,000.00 +10,000=$65.00 Break Even Point

650,000.00+100,000.00=750,000.00

750,000.00/10,000.00=$75.00 per visit for annual profit

C. Again repeat part a,but assume that direct fixed costs are$1,000,000.

(10,000.00 * 5.00) - 1,000,000.00 -50,000.00

10,000.00*5.00=1,000,000.00-50,000.00=0

10,000.00*5.00=1,100,000.00

1,100,000.00/10,000.00=$110.00 per visit

1,100,000+100,000=1,200,000.00/10,000.00 =$120,00 per visit for annual profit

D. Repeat Part a assuming both $10..00 in variable costs and $1,000,000 in direct fixed costs.

(10,000.00*10.00)-1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000.00*10.00=1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000*10.00=1,150,000.00

1,150,000/10,000.00=$115.00 per visit breakeven point

1,150,000.00 +100,000.00=1,250,000.00

1,250,000.00/10,000=$125.00 per visit for annual profit

Question 2:

A. What is the fee schedule for these services, assuming that the goal is to cover only variable and direct fixed costs/

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5*3,000)-$50,000=$0

3,000*Price=$65,000

Price=$65,000/3,000=$22.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-$30,000=$0

(1,500*Price)-$40,500

Price=$40,5000/1,500=$27.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)-(10*500)-40,000

(500*Price)-$45,000

Price=$45,000/500=$90.00

B. What is the fee schedule assuming that these overhead costs must be covered?

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5.00* 3000)-$50,000 - $50,000=$0

(3,000*Price)-$115,000=$0

3,000 * Price=$115,000

Price=$115,000/3,000=$38.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-50,000-30,000

(1,500*Price)-$90,500=$0

(1,5000 *Price=$90,500

Price=$90,000/1,500=$60.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)($10*500)-$50,000-$40,000

(500*Price)-$95,000=$0

Question 3:

As a starting point, what is the price of the combined test assuming marginal cost pricing/

A. Test A                                  Test B                 Test C

$3.00                           $3.00                  $3.00

1.00                               1.00                    1.00

.15                                   .15                       .15

.80                                   .60                    1.20

.10                                   .10                      .10

.05                                   .05                      .05

5.10 Total                       4.90 Total           $5.50 Total

B.

Test A $10+5.10=$15.10

Test B $10+4.90=$14.90

Test C $10+5.50=$15.50

C. 

2,000 Test

40,000.00 Overhead

Test A

2,000*5.10=10,200.00

10,000.00+40,000=50,200.00

50,200.00/2,000=$25.10

Test B

2,000*4.90=9,800.00

9,800.00+40,000=49,800.00

49,800.00/2,000=$24.90

Test C

2,000*5.50=11,000.00

11,000.00+40,000=51,000

51,000.00/2,000=$25.50

A. What is the hospitals net income?

Payer                #of Admissions   Avg. Rev   Per Admissions      Rev.By Payer  VC per Adm Total VC.         Contribution Margin

PennCare           1,000      $5,000           $5,000,000.00           3,000           3,000,000.00                2,000,000.00

Medicare            4,000       4,500           18,000,000.00            4,000           16,000,000.00              2,000,000.00

Commercial        8,000    7,000              56,000,000.00            2,500           20,000,000.00              36,000,000.00

Total                13,000   16,500,000.00   79,000,000.00            9,500          39,000,000,00              40,000,000.00

Total Revenues $79,000,000.00

B.Assume that half of the 100,000 covered lives in the commercial payer group will be moved into a capitated plan. What Pmpm rate will the hospital have to charge to retain its Part a net income?

   Related Questions in Finance Basics

  • Q : Companies benefit most from stronger

    What type of U.S. companies would benefit most from a stronger dollar in the foreign exchange market? Describe. U.S. companies which import goods from other countries would benefit from a stronger dollar. More units of foreign currency could b

  • Q : Describe the benefits of paying late

    Describe the benefits of "paying late" (but not too late) and how do companies try to do this? Since money has time value, the later cash is paid, but not too late, the better. Companies employ remote disbursement banks to facilitate holding at

  • Q : Explain Feasibility Analysis

    Feasibility Analysis: It is an analysis of the ability to finish a project successfully, taking into account legal, technological, economic, scheduling and various other factors. Instead of just diving into a project and hoping for th

  • Q : Describe Treasury bill Describe

    Describe Treasury bill? How risky is it?Treasury bills are short term debt instruments issued through the U.S. Treasury which are sold at a discount and pay face value at maturity.  They are very close to risk-free as they are backed throug

  • Q : All rates are stated annually with

    1.      Assume the following (all rates are stated annually with semiannual compounding):

  • Q : Nominal GDP and suitable price index

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : Making capital structure decisions In a

    In a perfect capital market, what advice would you give a corporate financial manager on making capital structure decisions? Justify your advice. How and why would your advice change as real world capital market imperfections are introduced?

    Q : What are Feeder Funds Feeder Funds :

    Feeder Funds: For lawful basis accounting purposes, funds into which some taxes or fees are deposited on collection. In some situations administrative costs, collection expenses, and refunds are paid. The balance of such funds is transferable at any t

  • Q : Explain Section 26.00 Section 26.00 :

    Section 26.00: It is a Control Section of Budget Act which gives the authority for the transfer of funds from one class, program or function in a schedule to the other category, program or function in the similar schedule, subject to particular limita

  • Q : Problem on tax and spend at possible

    Normal 0 false false