--%>

Healthcare Finance Issues

Question 1

A. What per visit price must be set for the service to break even? To earn an annual profit of $100,000?

(10,000 * 5.00 - $500,000 - 50,000 = 0

(10,000 * 5.00) -$50,000=0

10,000 = $600,000

600,000 + 10,000 = $60.00 per visit break even

600,000 + 100,000=700,000

700,000/10,000=$70 per visit for annual profit of $100,000

B. Repeat part a, but assume that the variable cost per visit is $10.00.

10,000 * 10.00 - $5000,00 - $50,000 =0

10,000*10.00=500,000 -50,000=0

10,000* *10.00=650,000.00

650,000.00 +10,000=$65.00 Break Even Point

650,000.00+100,000.00=750,000.00

750,000.00/10,000.00=$75.00 per visit for annual profit

C. Again repeat part a,but assume that direct fixed costs are$1,000,000.

(10,000.00 * 5.00) - 1,000,000.00 -50,000.00

10,000.00*5.00=1,000,000.00-50,000.00=0

10,000.00*5.00=1,100,000.00

1,100,000.00/10,000.00=$110.00 per visit

1,100,000+100,000=1,200,000.00/10,000.00 =$120,00 per visit for annual profit

D. Repeat Part a assuming both $10..00 in variable costs and $1,000,000 in direct fixed costs.

(10,000.00*10.00)-1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000.00*10.00=1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000*10.00=1,150,000.00

1,150,000/10,000.00=$115.00 per visit breakeven point

1,150,000.00 +100,000.00=1,250,000.00

1,250,000.00/10,000=$125.00 per visit for annual profit

Question 2:

A. What is the fee schedule for these services, assuming that the goal is to cover only variable and direct fixed costs/

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5*3,000)-$50,000=$0

3,000*Price=$65,000

Price=$65,000/3,000=$22.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-$30,000=$0

(1,500*Price)-$40,500

Price=$40,5000/1,500=$27.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)-(10*500)-40,000

(500*Price)-$45,000

Price=$45,000/500=$90.00

B. What is the fee schedule assuming that these overhead costs must be covered?

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5.00* 3000)-$50,000 - $50,000=$0

(3,000*Price)-$115,000=$0

3,000 * Price=$115,000

Price=$115,000/3,000=$38.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-50,000-30,000

(1,500*Price)-$90,500=$0

(1,5000 *Price=$90,500

Price=$90,000/1,500=$60.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)($10*500)-$50,000-$40,000

(500*Price)-$95,000=$0

Question 3:

As a starting point, what is the price of the combined test assuming marginal cost pricing/

A. Test A                                  Test B                 Test C

$3.00                           $3.00                  $3.00

1.00                               1.00                    1.00

.15                                   .15                       .15

.80                                   .60                    1.20

.10                                   .10                      .10

.05                                   .05                      .05

5.10 Total                       4.90 Total           $5.50 Total

B.

Test A $10+5.10=$15.10

Test B $10+4.90=$14.90

Test C $10+5.50=$15.50

C. 

2,000 Test

40,000.00 Overhead

Test A

2,000*5.10=10,200.00

10,000.00+40,000=50,200.00

50,200.00/2,000=$25.10

Test B

2,000*4.90=9,800.00

9,800.00+40,000=49,800.00

49,800.00/2,000=$24.90

Test C

2,000*5.50=11,000.00

11,000.00+40,000=51,000

51,000.00/2,000=$25.50

A. What is the hospitals net income?

Payer                #of Admissions   Avg. Rev   Per Admissions      Rev.By Payer  VC per Adm Total VC.         Contribution Margin

PennCare           1,000      $5,000           $5,000,000.00           3,000           3,000,000.00                2,000,000.00

Medicare            4,000       4,500           18,000,000.00            4,000           16,000,000.00              2,000,000.00

Commercial        8,000    7,000              56,000,000.00            2,500           20,000,000.00              36,000,000.00

Total                13,000   16,500,000.00   79,000,000.00            9,500          39,000,000,00              40,000,000.00

Total Revenues $79,000,000.00

B.Assume that half of the 100,000 covered lives in the commercial payer group will be moved into a capitated plan. What Pmpm rate will the hospital have to charge to retain its Part a net income?

   Related Questions in Finance Basics

  • Q : How does preemptive right secure

    How does a preemptive right secure the interests of present stockholders? A preemptive right secure the interests of existing stockholders through giving them the chance to preempt other investors into the purchase of new shares. If these right

  • Q : What is Financial Restructuring

    Financial Restructuring: It is the reorganizing of a business' liabilities and assets. The procedure is frequently related with corporate restructuring where an organization's on the whole structure and its processes are refurbished. Though companies

  • Q : Working capital what are the advantages

    what are the advantages and disadvantages of working capital source of finance

  • Q : Define Limited-Term Position

    Limited-Term Position (LT): Any place that has been authorized only for a particular length of time with a set termination date.Limited-term positions might be authorized throughout the budget procedure or in transactions approved by the D

  • Q : What is Feasibility Study Report

    Feasibility Study Report (FSR): This is a document proposing an information technology project which contains analyses of options, cost estimates, and some other information.

  • Q : Describe compensating balances its need

    Describe compensating balances and why do banks needs them from some customers? Under what situation would banks be most likely to impose compensating balances? Compensating balances are funds that a bank needs a customer to maintain in a non-i

  • Q : Influence of a quota Normal 0 false

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : Shapes of marginal-cost and the

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : Problem of time lags in enacting and

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : Explain financial markets Explain

    Explain financial markets? Why do they exist?In financial markets, financial securities are bought and sold. They exist chiefly to bring deficit economic units (those needing money) and surplus economic units (those have extra money) together.