--%>

Healthcare Finance Issues

Question 1

A. What per visit price must be set for the service to break even? To earn an annual profit of $100,000?

(10,000 * 5.00 - $500,000 - 50,000 = 0

(10,000 * 5.00) -$50,000=0

10,000 = $600,000

600,000 + 10,000 = $60.00 per visit break even

600,000 + 100,000=700,000

700,000/10,000=$70 per visit for annual profit of $100,000

B. Repeat part a, but assume that the variable cost per visit is $10.00.

10,000 * 10.00 - $5000,00 - $50,000 =0

10,000*10.00=500,000 -50,000=0

10,000* *10.00=650,000.00

650,000.00 +10,000=$65.00 Break Even Point

650,000.00+100,000.00=750,000.00

750,000.00/10,000.00=$75.00 per visit for annual profit

C. Again repeat part a,but assume that direct fixed costs are$1,000,000.

(10,000.00 * 5.00) - 1,000,000.00 -50,000.00

10,000.00*5.00=1,000,000.00-50,000.00=0

10,000.00*5.00=1,100,000.00

1,100,000.00/10,000.00=$110.00 per visit

1,100,000+100,000=1,200,000.00/10,000.00 =$120,00 per visit for annual profit

D. Repeat Part a assuming both $10..00 in variable costs and $1,000,000 in direct fixed costs.

(10,000.00*10.00)-1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000.00*10.00=1,000,000.00-50,000=0

10,000*10.00=1,150,000.00

1,150,000/10,000.00=$115.00 per visit breakeven point

1,150,000.00 +100,000.00=1,250,000.00

1,250,000.00/10,000=$125.00 per visit for annual profit

Question 2:

A. What is the fee schedule for these services, assuming that the goal is to cover only variable and direct fixed costs/

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5*3,000)-$50,000=$0

3,000*Price=$65,000

Price=$65,000/3,000=$22.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-$30,000=$0

(1,500*Price)-$40,500

Price=$40,5000/1,500=$27.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)-(10*500)-40,000

(500*Price)-$45,000

Price=$45,000/500=$90.00

B. What is the fee schedule assuming that these overhead costs must be covered?

Basic Examination

(3,000*Price) ($5.00* 3000)-$50,000 - $50,000=$0

(3,000*Price)-$115,000=$0

3,000 * Price=$115,000

Price=$115,000/3,000=$38.00

Advanced Examination

(1,500*Price) ($7*1,500)-50,000-30,000

(1,500*Price)-$90,500=$0

(1,5000 *Price=$90,500

Price=$90,000/1,500=$60.00

Therapy Session

(500*Price)($10*500)-$50,000-$40,000

(500*Price)-$95,000=$0

Question 3:

As a starting point, what is the price of the combined test assuming marginal cost pricing/

A. Test A                                  Test B                 Test C

$3.00                           $3.00                  $3.00

1.00                               1.00                    1.00

.15                                   .15                       .15

.80                                   .60                    1.20

.10                                   .10                      .10

.05                                   .05                      .05

5.10 Total                       4.90 Total           $5.50 Total

B.

Test A $10+5.10=$15.10

Test B $10+4.90=$14.90

Test C $10+5.50=$15.50

C. 

2,000 Test

40,000.00 Overhead

Test A

2,000*5.10=10,200.00

10,000.00+40,000=50,200.00

50,200.00/2,000=$25.10

Test B

2,000*4.90=9,800.00

9,800.00+40,000=49,800.00

49,800.00/2,000=$24.90

Test C

2,000*5.50=11,000.00

11,000.00+40,000=51,000

51,000.00/2,000=$25.50

A. What is the hospitals net income?

Payer                #of Admissions   Avg. Rev   Per Admissions      Rev.By Payer  VC per Adm Total VC.         Contribution Margin

PennCare           1,000      $5,000           $5,000,000.00           3,000           3,000,000.00                2,000,000.00

Medicare            4,000       4,500           18,000,000.00            4,000           16,000,000.00              2,000,000.00

Commercial        8,000    7,000              56,000,000.00            2,500           20,000,000.00              36,000,000.00

Total                13,000   16,500,000.00   79,000,000.00            9,500          39,000,000,00              40,000,000.00

Total Revenues $79,000,000.00

B.Assume that half of the 100,000 covered lives in the commercial payer group will be moved into a capitated plan. What Pmpm rate will the hospital have to charge to retain its Part a net income?

   Related Questions in Finance Basics

  • Q : Companies benefit most from stronger

    What type of U.S. companies would benefit most from a stronger dollar in the foreign exchange market? Describe. U.S. companies which import goods from other countries would benefit from a stronger dollar. More units of foreign currency could b

  • Q : Surpluses drive prices up- shortages

    Normal 0 false false

  • Q : What is Special Fund for Economic

    Special Fund for Economic Uncertainties: It is a fund in the General Fund (that is, a similar reserve is involved in each special fund) authorized by the statute and Budget Act Control Section 12.30 to offer for emergency situations.

  • Q : For banking services how competitive is

    For banking services how competitive is the market?Along with more than 7,000 banks and thrifts in the U.S., banking is one of the most competitive industries in the world. Assume the following characteristics of the American financial services

  • Q : What is Fiscal Year Fiscal Year (FY):

    Fiscal Year (FY): Twelve-month periods throughout which income is earned and received, compulsions are incurred, encumbrances are prepared, appropriations are expended, and for which the other fiscal transactions are recorded. In Cali

  • Q : Two Questions Question 1 An all equity

    Question 1 An all equity firm has a required return on its equity of 15%, has 10 million shares outstanding, and pays no taxes. The shares are currently trading at $6.00 each. The firm is planning to borrow $9 million at 5% interest rate and use the borrowed funds to buyback a portion of its equi

  • Q : Describe Form 22 Form 22 : It’s a

    Form 22: It’s a department’s request to transfer money to the Architectural Revolving Fund (example, for building enhancements), reviewed by the Department of Finance.

  • Q : Define May Revision May Revision : The

    May Revision: The annual update to the Governor’s Budget having a revised estimate of General Fund revenues for the present and ensuing fiscal years, any proposals to adjust expenditures to reflect the updated revenue estimates,

  • Q : Explain Governors Budget Summary or

    Governor's Budget Summary (or A-Pages): This is a companion publication to the Governor’s Budget which outlines the Governor’s goals, policies, and objectives for the budget year. This gives a perspective on important fiscal and/or structu

  • Q : What is Availability Period

    Availability Period: The time period throughout which an appropriation might be encumbered (that is, committed for expenditure), generally specified by the law making the appropriation. When no particular time is given in financial legislation, the pe